Edward R. Murrow Award Regional Winners Announced


Out of more than 5,000 entries, The Radio Television Digital News Association (RTDNA) has selected News12, FOX61, WFSB and CT Public as winners in various categories in Region 10 (CT, ME, MA, NH, RI, VT).

Here they are:

Small Market Radio: Continuing Coverage Award

  • CT Public for the Wethersfield fatal police-involved shooting of 18-year-old Anthony Jose “Chulo” Vega Cruz.

Small Market Television: Excellence in Writing

Small Market Television: Sports Reporting 

Large Market Television: Excellence in Video 

Large Market Television: Feature Reporting 

Large Market Television: News Series 

  • WFSB for Sisters Forever: Denise D’Ascenzo, Producer Tracy Furey, Photographer/Editor Eric Budney.


The Radio Television Digital News Association has been honoring outstanding achievements in electronic journalism with the Edward R. Murrow Awards since 1971. Award recipients demonstrate the spirit of excellence that Murrow set as a standard for the profession of electronic journalism. These are the 2020 RTDNA Regional Murrow Award recipients. Digital News Organizations, Network entrants and Student Murrow Awards are all judged at the national level, with winners announced later this year.