FOI Anniversary


The Connecticut Council on Freedom of Information is celebrating its 60th year with an anniversary lunch, Wednesday, June 17, at the Hartford Club.

During the luncheon several journalists and public officials will receive FOI awards:

Bice Clemow award: traditionally given to a non-journalist — Owen Eagan, chairman of the Freedom of Information Commission.

Stephen A. Collins award: traditionally given to a journalist – shared, Carolyn Lumsden, opinion page editor of the Hartford Courant; and Christine Stuart, editor of

Champion of Open Government awards: Paul Bass, editor of the New Haven Independent; Marcia Chambers, senior research scholar in law and journalist in residence at Yale Law School; and Dana Whalen, long-time news director of WTIC radio; Rep. Ed Jutila, D- East Lyme.